You Are An Overcomer

Growing up, my parents taught me to keep my focus on Jesus. When circumstances and obstacles came my way, they encouraged me that Jesus was with me. When I was bullied, I strived to keep my focus straight ahead and remember that God has a purpose for my life. My life is truly a testimony of perseverance. I share my story of overcoming bullying in my book, “Bullied Yet Victorious: How I Overcame Fear with Faith.”

In times of struggles, we can either focus on the negative or look at how we can grow from it. During the time I was being bullied, it was a faith building time for me. It was a time where I chose to believe what God says about me and stand firm on His Word, trusting that God is with me. I relied on Him during my time of trouble. However, more importantly, God helped me to overcome. Whatever you are facing today, know that you can overcome too.

According to Webster’s Dictionary, overcome means: to get the better of; to prevail. To dig deeper, I looked up the meaning of prevail. Prevail means: to be victorious, triumph; to succeed, etc. How is it that we are overcomers? We are overcomers because of Jesus Christ and what He did on the cross for us. We don’t have to walk in this world alone. We don’t have to be fearful or face struggles alone, for He is with us wherever we go. John 10:10 says, “The thief does not come expect to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” We have life because of what Jesus did for us on the cross. God loved the world so much, He gave His only Begotten Son to die for us on our behalf. He bore our sins and shame. Even though we don’t deserve His mercy and grace, God’s mercies are made new every morning according to Lamentations 3:23. We are victorious because of Him. We don’t have to believe the labels people put on us; rather, we can believe what God says about us which is: blessed, precious, worthy, valuable, priceless, beautiful, smart, overcomers, and victorious.

You can prevail. You can overcome. You can triumph and succeed. Believe me, I have been there and here I am today encouraging you. Regardless the circumstances that surround you, you are victorious. God is with you and He will bring you through. Maybe you are worried about finances due to the economy…trust in Him that He will provide and bring you through. Maybe you received a negative doctor’s report…trust in Him that He will heal you. Or, maybe you are dealing with bullying at school…trust in Him that He is with you, even when you feel like you are alone. As a Christian, we are victorious because we have God Almighty on our side. I mean think about it, the Creator of the Universe has you in the palm of His hands. Is there anything too big for Him? Of course not! Therefore, your struggles, pain, hurt, obstacles, regret, circumstances…whatever you are dealing with, God can help you to triumph over your problems. He can bring you through!

Our world is so fast paced, it can seem overwhelming at times and lonely. But, know this, that you are not alone. If you are struggling today with loneliness, fear, bitterness, depression…you are not alone. God is with you, He hears your prayers and cries. I heard a pastor once say that God never wastes a hurt. He knows what you are going through and even when it seems tough, God will make all things work together for your good. He did for me! I was bullied and it hurt. However, I chose to stand firm on God’s Word and believe in Him that He would bring me through. This I know, my hurt was not wasted. God turned things around on my behalf. What the enemy meant for harm, God turned it around for my good. Now I get to share my story and testimony of God’s goodness and help others. Know today, that God is working on your behalf. He will make all things work together for your good. Stay faithful and hopeful, your brighter days are head. You are an overcomer!

Image

One thought on “You Are An Overcomer

  1. Pingback: Overcoming Hurt Feelings | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

