Bullied Yet Victorious

Have you heard about the book “Bullied Yet Victorious” or have you seen the commercial? There are many people who do not know that I have written a book. I would like to use this opportunity to share the reason and purpose I wrote, “Bullied Yet Victorious: How I Overcame Fear with Faith.” But, first I would like to tell you that this Saturday, February 22nd, I will be having my first book signing event at Firewheel Coffee in Garland, TX, from 1:00-3:00PM.

In the summer of 2011, before I started my junior year in college, I was sitting in my room thinking about the bazar bullying incidents I endured growing up. As I sat there recalling what occurred, I grabbed my computer and began to type away. I began writing the incidents as if I were talking to someone and within a few days, I finished my book. I read it to my mom and she recommended I get it published. In my junior year, I was on the search for a publisher to accept my manuscript. I knew what I wrote would encourage the reader. I knew that I had been given this book for a reason. As the search continued, I began to get discouraged because publishers were not accepting solicited manuscripts. I was disappointed because I knew this was a dream God had given me, yet I wasn’t seeing doors opening.

In the summer of 2012, I received an unexpected email from a representative at a Christian publishing company. The rep requested that I send him my manuscript and notified me that within a few weeks, they would inform me of their decision. It was less than a week when I received an answer…”Congratulations, we would be honored to publish your book.” I was ecstatic! I couldn’t believe it! Finally, someone was interested in my story! I was stepping closer to the dream God had given me.

In the summer of 2013, my book was nationally released-on July 23rd, to be exact. The first challenge I faced was finding a publisher. The second challenge I am facing is spreading the word-getting the word out about the book. I didn’t realize how tough it would be! However, I choose to believe that every day is a step closer to fulfilling the dream God has given me. Whatever challenge that arises, it just makes us stronger! God’s timing is ALWAYS perfect! We may not understand it, we may not see things happen right away, but we have to trust in His PERFECT timing.

If you are wondering what my dream is, I will tell you. I was bullied all throughout my life. When people see me, they have a hard time believing it because they say, “You don’t look like a bullied victim, you look like the popular girl at school” or “Why should people listen to you? You look like someone who has been raised with a silver spoon in your mouth.” Both statements are false and judgmental. I didn’t realize that to be a victim, you have to have a “look.” I am not a rich person, my parents never raised me with a “silver spoon in my mouth.”  Sadly, the bullying took place in the Christian environment-Christian schools and church. I was a straight ‘A’ student, athlete, involved in extracurricular activities, and involved in church; yet, I was bullied. However, I love what Romans 8:28 [NKJV] says, “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” What the enemy meant for harm, God turned around for my good.

Bullying hurts. Bullying is real and it can happen to anyone. I am living proof of that. However, I learned that it doesn’t matter what bullies say about me. What matters is what GOD says about me. In the Bible, He says I am blessed, overcomer, worthy, beautiful, smart, priceless, and victorious. There is truly hope in the Lord. I wouldn’t have not been able to face bullying if it were not for relying on the Word of God and realizing I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength according to Philippians 4:13.

I wrote “Bullied Yet Victorious” to encourage teens who have faced bullying or dealing with bullying. I share my personal encounters starting in the second grade (I was bullied by my teacher/principal) all the way to college (I felt like I was living in a movie my freshmen year of college). I encourage the reader to dream big and know that God will help them through. This upcoming generation needs help and their self-esteem built. Every time I hear on the news that a teen was bullied or a teen committed suicide due to bullying, it breaks my heart. IF only someone would have helped. IF only someone would have stood up and told the victim, “Don’t give up, you have a purpose. It doesn’t matter what bullies say, they don’t define you. You are more than what they say. You are victorious. You are an overcomer and God loves you very much.”

That is my dream. That is my message. Bullies don’t determine your future, God does. Bullies come and go, but God is everlasting. Don’t let the words of bullies get you down. You have a purpose according to Jeremiah 29:11 and wonderfully made according to Psalm 139:13-16. You are a blessing!

My dream is to write more books; but, while on this journey, encourage teens they have a purpose. I believe God has given me this book as a platform to testify His goodness and uplift, encourage the broken hearted. My heart’s desire is to speak at conferences, youth groups, and churches. I  want to challenge churches to be the church…bullying should not even be happening in churches. I don’t believe that is what God intended for the church. In my opinion, bullying can hurt worse when it happens at church. I was devastated and didn’t want to go to church for a long time because I was bullied by church members my junior year of high school. I didn’t blame God for what happened, but I couldn’t believe how people who professed to be “Christians” were so mean and hateful. Bullying in the church can cause serious damage. In 1 John, John constantly mentions how we should love one another. Jesus said the greatest commandment is to love God with all our heart, soul, and strength…and to love our neighbor as ourselves. Why then, is it hard for some “Christians” to truly show the love of God?

If you have been bullied or dealing with bullying, I want to encourage you that you are meant for so much more. You have been created for such a time as this. God has a wonderful purpose for you. You are priceless, worthy, smart, beautiful, overcomer, and you are, victorious. You are Bullied Yet Victorious.

Leave a Reply

