Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014

Time flies by so fast. Time is precious. Time is something that is forever gone once it has passed. Time is seconds. Time is minutes. Time is hours. 24 hours, 1,440 minutes, and 86,400 seconds are in one day. Time is sweet. Time is bitter. Time is priceless.

Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014. In less than two days, the world will be celebrating New Year’s Day…a new journey, new beginnings, new embarks, new goals, new passions, new desires, and new accomplishments. It can also cause us to reflect on the previous year and wonder what the New Year will bring.

2013 has been a whirlwind for me, full of challenges yet full of blessings. But, without challenges, how can one’s character and faith grow? From January to May 2013, I was in Tulsa, Oklahoma, finishing my last semester of undergrad. That was it, I was forever finished with college as of May 4, 2013. I got to graduate with honors and receive my degree. Before I walked across the stage, I had my life all figured out (I am a visionary person and a planner, got to have a plan!). Or, what I assumed to be figured out. My plan was going to enjoy the summer, land a job in August, meet the Godly man God has for me by October, my book was going to be a hit (it was nationally released on July 23rd), I was going to be able to travel and speak at events by the time December rolled around. Sounds like a great plan, right? Oh, how my ways are not God’s ways. Yes, I did enjoy the summer. However, August rolled around and no job. September arrived, no job or book events. I contacted various ministries, churches, organizations regarding my book and no response. October came, no job and I didn’t even meet my Prince Charming. November passed by, no job, no book events, and no man. December rushed by and well, you can guess what did not happen. Sounds depressing, does it not? But, I can boldly and confidently say, “Thank you Lord that Your ways are not my ways. The best is yet to come!” There is a reason and season for everything. Nothing goes unnoticed by God. All the “no’s” I received encourages me that my “yes” is on its way.

During this time in my life, I learned something valuable…not to despise being in the wilderness. Yes, I am living with my parents but not ashamed to say it. I am grateful God blessed me with loving and understanding parents. There are college students who are working and living away from home, and getting married; not this girl! I was reading Deuteronomy 8 the other day and it talked about remembering the Lord in all things. Where we go in life, the houses, fame, wealth…it’s not of ourselves, but of the Lord. Remember the Lord always! The Israelites wondered for 40 years in the desert, but during that time in the wilderness, it caused them to grow and see how powerful God is. Deuteronomy 8:2-3 says, “And you shall remember that the Lord your God led you all the way these forty years in the wilderness, to humble you, and test you, to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep His commandments or not. So He humbled you, allowed you to hunger, and fed you with manna which you did not know nor did your fathers know, that He might make you know that man shall not live by bread alone; but man lives by every word that proceeds from the mouth of the Lord.” I am not literally walking in a desert, but I do feel like I have been walking through a dry season. This season has been humbling and testing of my faith. However, the testing of our faith produces patience- James 1:2-4, “My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.”

I don’t believe any day is a wasted day. God gives us each day and what we do with it matters. I am expecting for things to turn around. I am expecting and believing 2014 is the year where my dreams come to pass. I am believing in 2014, God will open doors that no man can close.

If you are in the same boat as me or can relate, I believe 2014 will be a wonderful year for you too. God has a purpose and plan for you. 1 Corinthians 2: 9 says, “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” One of my favorite Bible verses is Philippians 1:6, “…being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.”

Tomorrow will be the last day of 2013. Let it be memorable! I want to encourage you to celebrate and thank the Lord for what He has done for you in 2013. Enter into the New Year with expectancy that God will fulfill your heart’s desire, open doors no man can close, bless you abundantly, provide you with opportunities, divine connections, and divine appointments. Ephesians 3:20 says, “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us…”

Instead of writing down New Year Resolutions (unattainable goals in which we fail to complete or quit by March)…write down your dreams and what you would like to see the Lord bring to pass in 2014. I am believing in 2014 for a job, speaking opportunities, book events, divine connections, divine appointments, and meeting the Godly (brown hair, blue eyed, athletically built) man God has for me;) What are you believing for?

Habukkuk 2:2-3, “Then the Lord answered me and said: Write the vision and make it plain on tablets, that he may run who reads it. For the vision is yet for an appointed time; but at the end it will speak, and it will not lie. Though it tarries, wait for it, because it will surely come, it will not tarry.”  

Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014!

untitled

Leave a Reply

