He Is My King

The Christmas season is in full swing with the hustle and bustle of traffic, shopping, bargains, food, family, parties, baking, and traditions. First, I would like to say that I cannot believe that in two days it is Christmas. Second, I cannot believe how fast December has flown by. Can you believe the first of 2014 is next week? This is all too fast for me! But, despite the fast paced holidays, this time of the month can cause great reflection, memories, and traditions that are shared among families. However, the true meaning of Christmas can become overshadowed with the stress of trying to accomplish plans made in order to make Christmas Day spectacular.

I have a Sheltie. He is 13 years old but still has a puppy’s heart. He is so adorable, especially now that he has a Christmas sweater! Every year, for 13 years, I purchase little presents so he has something to unwrap on Christmas morning. Well, this year, he found his presents early. He found the goodies, and helped himself to a bone. Unfortunately, he spoiled his surprise. Therefore, today, I managed to brave the storm and went to Pet Smart. When I say storm, I don’t mean the icy weather that is hitting the northern part of the United States. I mean the flood of cars, the horrendous traffic that DFW has, the furry of shoppers, the tension between people as they gather their last minute gifts. This goes to show how spoiled my dog is! I managed to go out into society, just to get him a bone. Actually, two bones-it was a fabulous bargain! Unfortunately, the Pet Smart that I go to is right next to a Best Buy and a grocery store. It appeared like everyone and their mother was out today. Bumper to bumper traffic, crazy drivers…there was a moment where I wanted to pull my hair. The slow pokes, the speeders, the cautious, and the cutter-offers were all out today. I wanted to ask (more like yell), “Where did you get your drivers license?” If people would just move it! Trying really hard not to get frustrated, I happened to notice the man driving the vehicle in front of me. He was alone, shaking his head, throwing up his hands, smacking his steering wheel as if he were pitching a fit in his truck. After seeing his actions, it made me wonder if he looked forward to Christmas or if he had family to celebrate with. He appeared intolerant and agitated. Of course, he could have had a blue tooth on and was caring on due to the conversation. But, it caused me to ponder and reflect. This time of year, it is easy to become stressed out rather than walking in peace, love, and joy. We become so consumed with the holidays, that I often wonder if people miss the real reason for Christmas. Preparing for the holidays can be exhausting, but I think if we focus on the real reason for Christmas, it helps to put things back into perspective.

I am a Christian and I believe that God sent His Only Son, Jesus Christ, to die for my sins. John 3:16 says, ” For God so loved the world that He gave His Only Begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life.” The real reason my family and I celebrate Christmas is to remember the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Can you imagine the day He was born? I mean think about it, during your childhood, was there ever a gift you wanted so bad and looked so forward to, you couldn’t wait for it? You just knew that you knew you were going to receive it, but didn’t know when? That is what I imagine Israel went through. In the Bible, Isaiah prophesied the coming of a Savior who would save humanity. Matthew chapter 1 and 2 talks about the birth of Jesus.  In Matthew 1:20-23 says, “But while he thought about these things, behold, an angel of the Lord appeared to him [Joseph] in a dream saying, “Joseph, son of David, do not be afraid to take you Mary your wife, for that which is conceived in her is of the Holy Sprit. And she will bring forth a Son, and you shall call His name JESUS, for He will save His people from their sins. So all this was done that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by the Lord through the prophet, saying: “Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and bear a Son, and they shall call His name Immanuel,” which is translated, “God is with us.”” But, when Jesus came, the Jews didn’t see him. They didn’t recognize him to be the Messiah. They demanded a murderer be released and Jesus sent to be executed. The injustice Christ faced literally blows my mind! Here the Jews waited for this glorious gift that they heard about for hundreds of years, and when He finally showed up- they mocked Him, betrayed Him, threw rocks at Him, spat on Him, and denied Him. He died on the cross for us, yet His own people couldn’t stand Him. Jesus was sent to earth to save us from our sins so that we may be reconciled with God and spend eternity with Him.

Yes, Christmas is about family time, serving, giving, resting, and following traditions. But, it is also about the birth of Jesus Christ. It blows my mind how people can be so offended by the name Jesus or Christ. Regardless of how you celebrate Christmas, I am thankful that the King of Kings, Prince of Peace, and Lords of Lords was born. I am so grateful that He Is My King. The clip below shows why I celebrate Christmas.

As you and your family prepare for Christmas day, I pray that you don’t miss the time spent with each other. Embrace the company, joy, grace, love, and peace…and try not to stress out!

Hope you have a wonderful and blessed Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

