God Is For You

Have there been times in your life where you might feel inadequate to do something? Have you ever been told that you are not good enough to fulfill your dreams, talk to a certain someone, share your story, or achieve your goals? Well today, we are going to change that! If you have not bought into those lies, good for you! However, those of you who have listened to the voices that have put you down…listen up!

Awhile ago, I attended a conference that was a “Christian” conference. There were some powerful speakers; their message really blessed me. Then, there were some speakers who are involved in ministry that were cocky and haughty to the point they appeared unapproachable. As I sat there in my seat observing their behavior, I felt so inadequate. There were speakers that I wanted to meet because I wanted to share with them my book and ask for advice on what it was like to be a first time author/speaker. However, the way they behaved, it made me feel like I was not worthy enough to talk to them. I had thoughts like “You are not good enough to talk to those individuals.” I tried really hard to switch the negative thoughts to positive ones like, “I am important! I am a child of the Most High God. I am worthy. I am victorious. God loves me so much. I am important to Jesus.” I didn’t get to talk to any of the speakers but I learned two important lessons:

  1.  1. Actions speak louder than words.
  2. 2. We are worthy. So, I am going to break down these two points:

1. Actions Speak Louder

The conference was talking about how the Church needs to be the Church; yet, it was ironic how some of the speakers were not reflecting Jesus Christ! They contradicted the very thing they were speaking about. Please don’t get me wrong, I am not here to try and wound the Church. I am not here to bash Christianity. But, enough is enough. I am tired of seeing speakers that profess to be Christ followers to appear opposite of Christ like when they snub people in the audience, acting like they are too good to be in your presence. People (not all) in the Church need to get off their high horse and remember that it is not themselves who got them there–it was God who promoted them. In John 3:30 it says that He must increase while I must decrease. Seeing the speakers’ behavior, it made me realize that I NEVER want to be that way. It showed me to truly be Christ like, loving and approaching others. Whenever I am asked to speak someday, I don’t want to come across as them. Knowing how I felt about them, I would be devastated if people felt like they could not approach me. I would want people to approach me and ask any question. There is a saying that actions speak louder than words. It is so true. Any one can talk, but until their actions meet up with their words, it sends a whole other message. Think about this, will you show love to others today? Can you go beyond the barrier of pride and approach people? What can you do to make a difference each day?

2. We Are Worthy

After the conference, I went home and reflected on the messages; but, also on what I saw. I was disappointed in some of the people’s behavior. As I was sitting on my bed reflecting, God reminded me of Moses. When God approached Moses as the burning bush, He told Moses to go to Pharaoh and demand him to let His people go. Moses went through a moment of feeling inadequate. He was nervous about his speech, “why would Pharaoh listen to me?” he probably thought. He probably felt unworthy and nervous to talk to someone of status, let alone telling Pharaoh what to do. Yet, Moses found favor with God. God gave him the strength to talk to Pharaoh. Moses was so worthy and precious to God. He used an ordinary man to do extraordinary things. God used Moses to lead the Israelites out of Egypt to go to the Promise Land. Moses not only stood up to Pharaoh, but he led a multitude. How extraordinary is that!! Never think you are unworthy. You are so worthy and precious to God. God turns the ordinary into extraordinary. You are just as important to God as any pastor/speaker/minister or even the richest person on planet earth. God loves you so deeply. You are a child of God, you are victorious, you are worthy, you are blessed, you are a part of the unshakeable Kingdom, and you are redeemed.

Go this day knowing that you are worthy. You can do all things through Christ who gives you strength. Don’t think one moment you are not important because you are!

One thought on “God Is For You

  1. Very good thoughts, Ashley! I’m sorry that you had a feeling of inadequacy and feeling like the speakers were unapproachable because of their attitudes. What an uplifting message about not being afraid to stand up to those who are wrong, and be a true leader for Christ and follower of Christ. We MUST decrease so that The Lord can increase. This makes me think about The Skit Guys. Have you seen them? If you haven’t look them up on YouTube, and specifically, look up the video about Jesus Chipping the sinner so that Christ can shine through, and that the sinner can look in the mirror and see Christ, not himself. We must let The Lord chip away our sin to make lots of room for God. We need to have the characteristics of the fruit of the spirit. The fruit of The Spirit is love, joy peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. For those speakers, let’s pray for them to be Christian leaders, rather than speakers that people are afraid to approach. I remember one time I was sitting at church and something the pastor said struck a huge chord at me. He did not even explain his reasoning, but made a cocky remark like he “knew it all” without having facts or proof to back it up. Granted, he does have great sermons, but that day, one little sentence gave the impression that he would be a bit unapproachable on that particular topic.

    I pray for you, Ashley that you will also seek The Lord in all you do and say. It is so obvious that you are already a leader for Christ and that you are still growing into more of a leader for Him. I pray that you will always speak the truth, the Word, and that you will continue to be a strong, and inspirational leader. Great post, Ashley! You are an inspiration to many! Love ya!

    Jamie Wells

Leave a Reply

