What Makes a Perfect Day?

Today is the first day of fall! I don’t know about you, but I am looking so forward to the leaves changing colors, cooler weather, boots, pumpkin bread, and sipping coffee on the back patio when there is a slight breeze. That would make a day seem so perfect and care free. As I am sipping coffee (not on the patio) and the breeze is more like a wind storm, I did some reflecting. What makes a perfect day? I know that is a deep question, I tend to think very deep sometimes it makes my head hurt;)  Life can be extremely challenging at times, especially when things may not be going our way. I don’t think there is a real answer as to what makes a perfect day, but what I do know is that we can set in motion how our day will turn out by our attitude.

Every morning when you wake up, start the day thanking God that He gave you another day to live on this earth. We never know when our last day will be and it is so easy to take life for granted. Thank Him that He gave you a second chance and begin to expect that today will be a good day. Choose to be positive, happy, joyful, even when it seems tough. If we are negative, hateful, and angry…that is the kind of day we will have. I mean, think about it…how can you have a good day if you are so mean, screaming at the people around you, and making others feel uncomfortable? The Bible says in Romans 12:2 [NKJV], “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Renew your mind. How? By getting into the Bible and reading what God says about your situations and you. When you realize that you are fearfully and wonderfully made according to Psalm 139, you are the apple of God’s eye, you are a victorious, you are a conquerer, you are smart, you are confident, you are blessed…then that sets in tone for a great day. For example: yesterday, I was not having a superb day. I was exhausted, people on campus seemed to be extremely annoying, I got a ticket for not having a current campus parking permit, I didn’t get a close parking spot at Starbucks, and children at work were unusually hyper. That sounds like a rough day, doesn’t it? Well, you know what…I was determined to not have a terrible day. I chose to remain positive, keep a smile on my face, and realize that according to Philippians 4:13, I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. I was able to face the challenges of life head on, not wavering, and staying focused on what God says about me.

Begin saying what God says about you, throw your shoulders back, walk tall with confidence, and expect God to do something great for you.

Leave a Reply

